Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 24th, 2007

So I booked my flight to California about a week ago or so.

Over the course of this week I’ve received about 300 emails saying that my flight info had been changed and to please call and check in with them.

So I call.  Every single flight has been changed.  All the times are different.  I wouldn’t care that much, except for the fact that the last one on the list has been moved so far that my hour and a half layover has been reduced to 18 minutes.  I don’t feel safe with that.

So I tried to talk to an agent, after wading through ten minutes of menus.

And the bitch hung up on me!  I don’t think it was intentional, but even so…

This is ridiculous.  So I guess I’m going to try to track down an email address and ask if they could kindly put that last flight back into a more reasonable position.

Fucking airplanes.

Where’s my bullet train, that’s what I want to know?

Read Full Post »

I’ve been out of the loop for quite some time with Lawrence Lessig and the whole copyright debate thing, but I just read this today.  A fabulous study which confirms what should’ve been essentially common sense.

“Using detailed records of transfers of digital music files, we find that file sharing has had no statistically significant effect on purchases of the average album in our sample,” the study reports. “Even our most negative point estimate implies that a one-standard-deviation increase in file sharing reduces an album’s weekly sales by a mere 368 copies, an effect that is too small to be statistically distinguishable from zero.”

You read that correctly – statistically insignificant from zero.  Like the cassette recording wars, internet ‘piracy’ is essentially meaningless.

In fact, the music industry has probably intentionally flushed away more money on copy protection technology than they ever actually lost to the thing they were so incensed about.  Clever boys…

The full article is here.

Read Full Post »